When you’re viewing a message in Mail on an iPhone or iPad, you get five buttons: Flag, Move, Archive or Delete, Reply/Forward/Print, and New Message. But what determines whether that third button is Archive or Delete? iOS hides that option in Settings > Passwords & Accounts > YourEmailAccount—the details then vary by account type before you see the Move Discarded Messages Into options.
- iCloud as your primary address: Mail (under Advanced) > Advanced
- iCloud as a secondary address: Account > Mail > Advanced
- Gmail or other email provider: Account > Advanced
But what if you want to archive a message when you have Deleted Mailbox selected, or vice versa? Simply tap and hold on the Archive or Delete icon, and a popover appears, giving you both choices.


Stop by either store and let's see if we can figure it out together!
Stop by either store and let's see if we can figure it out together!
Stop by either store, and we'll be happy to see what we can do to help you.
Stop by either store, and we'll be happy to see what we can do.
Useful read. I have been tinkering with virtual machines on my Mac recently, and this fits neatly into the things…